Welcome

Dear SASS delegates

 

Welcome to the 23rd South African Spine Society congress to be held at the Sandton convention centre in Johannesburg from the 16 – 18 May 2024.

 

We are again in the position to celebrate the success of our meeting in this past year. It once again allowed us to not only enjoy a strong academic meeting, but also to reunite with friends and colleagues from throughout South Africa and even beyond. It is this collegiality and common interests that makes the SASS meeting so successful.

 

I gain inspiration from an amazing sporting year for our Springboks  winning their fourth Rugby World cup title. Knowing what we can achieve, we will put together a world class meeting for us to enjoy together.

 

The executive committee has been hard at work creating an academic program to hopefully enrich all of our practices in one way or the other. We are looking forward to the contributions from our international and local faculty and invite your opinion and participation during the sessions.

 

We have retained the registrar training session during lunchtime for our junior colleagues and whoever else is interested, covering common exam topics and the basics of spinal surgery. This has enjoyed a resounding success at the previous two meetings.

 

Our Networking Evening will once again take place following the AGM on the Friday evening, and I encourage all our delegates to attend. This is a great way to relax and enjoy good food in the company of friends and colleagues. This is a complimentary function and is included in registration fees.

 

We trust that this meeting will be enjoyable with good science and education and provide delegates with opportunities to catch up with friends from across the country and the world.

 

See you soon.

 

Dr Ian Zondagh
SASS President

 

Prof Robert Dunn
Academic Coordinator

Commitee

SASS President
Dr Ian Zondagh, president@saspine.org

 

SASS Academic Coordinator
Professor Robert Dunn, academic@saspine.org

Official SASS Emails

SASS President: president@saspine.org

President Elect: presidentelect@saspine.org

Academic: academic@saspine.org

Treasurer: treasurer@saspine.org

Honarary Secretary: secretary@saspine.org

Data & Medical Aids: data@saspine.org

Congress: congress@saspine.org

SASS Membership: membership@saspine.org

SA Spine Congress 2024